TIMBer

For the most part, I’ve been somewhat elusive about who I am. That ends this week. Not that it’s some big mystery, though, as this is one of thousands of blogs out there, and I’ve only mildly contributed to it over the last two years. It’s important to me because this is where I can share stories with many of you whom I have never met (or maybe will ever meet), but that’s the great thing about blogs…it’s like leaving a Post-It note in the corner of a club. Whether someone reads it or not is completely up to the traffic and curiosity of the passers by.

And so, I fall on my own sword that I began this blog journey with to share stories of my (then pending divorce) without calling out people directly. It isn’t a huge tree that I’m chopping down, but it has grown a bit in the last 24 months.

On Thursday, May 19th, at the Memorial Opera House in Valparaiso, Indiana, I will be taking the stage with thirteen other courageous people to present the Chicagoland event for This Is My Brave. Yes, it’s the week of the event and I’m just now mentioning it.

Here’s the recap. Back in February I auditioned for this production. In March I found out I was to be a part of the cast. Just last week I wrote a press release at my job to promote this powerful show.

http://sbct.org/news/blog/press-release-this-is-my-brave-nietf/

I have a B.A. in Theatre. I work at a theatre company. I’m one of the cast members in this unique show. I’m excited to join this group of storytellers here in the Midwest. I’m also more than moderately terrified of what I’m about to do in this show, but I know it is necessary that I share this portion of my story.

To learn more about This Is My Brave, visit their website HERE

If you can get to Valparaiso on Thursday evening, you should get your tickets online (while they’re cheaper) HERE  <http://nwitimb.bpt.me/&gt;

To learn more about what sparked my approach to this event, check out an earlier post of mine on this blog: “Thank You, CC

And if you’re looking for the Facebook event: <https://www.facebook.com/events/458066431064769/>

So yes, this is my felling the tree I was hiding behind. Timberrr!

And this is my identifying as one of the Chicagoland 2016 cast members of TIMB, This Is My Brave, thus…proudly calling myself a TIMBer.

Everyday I make the decision to #LiveBrave, and yes, I do believe that #StorytellingSavesLives. Whether we listen more, share more, or both, it has a greater effect than you think. When you think you’re alone, you aren’t. When you think you can’t, you can. When you need help, it is available.

Suicide Hotline: 1-800-273-8255
http://www.suicidepreventionlifeline.org/

Crisis Text Line (for those with anxiety that want to ask for help but making a phone call is challenging): http://www.crisistextline.org/textline/
Text “GO” to 741-741

13071954_10153664787472831_2135960963152137681_o

One thought on “TIMBer

Leave a Reply

